Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## 竞州煤業股份有限公司 YANZHOU COAL MINING COMPANY LIMITED

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1171)

## FURTHER INFORMATION ON THE PAYMENT OF FINAL DIVIDEND

Reference is made to the announcement of Yanzhou Coal Mining Company Limited (the "**Company**") dated 20 May 2011 (the "**Announcement**") in respect of, amongst others, the payment of the final dividend for the year ended 31 December 2010 (the "**2010 Final Dividend**"). The Company wishes to announce further information in relation to the payment of the 2010 Final Dividend.

Pursuant to the Circular on the Questions Concerning the Income Tax on the Profits for the Transfer of Shares (Equity Interests) and Dividend Received by Foreign Invested Enterprises, Foreign Enterprises and Individual Foreigners (Guo Shui Fa [1993] No. 45) (《關於外商投資企業、外國企業和外籍個人取得股票(股權)轉讓收益和股息所得稅收問題的通知》(國稅發[1993]45號)) (the "Circular") issued by the PRC State Administration of Taxation (the "SAT") in 1993, individual foreigners holding overseas shares were temporarily exempted from PRC individual income tax for the dividend (bonus) received from PRC enterprises issuing such overseas shares. On 4 January 2011,SAT issued the Announcement on the List of Fully or Partially Invalidated and Repealed Tax Regulations (SAT Announcement (2011) No. 2) (《關於公佈全文失效廢止、部份條款失效廢止的稅收規範性文件目錄的公告》(國家稅務總局公告2011年第2號)) (the "SAT Announcement"), pursuant to which the Circular was repealed and no longer valid. Therefore, based on the Company's current understanding, for the Company's individual H shareholders whose names appear on the register of members of H shares of the Company (the "Individual H Shareholders") the exemption from PRC individual income tax under the Circular is no longer applicable when the Company distributes the 2010 Final Dividend.

Pursuant to the PRC Individual Income Tax Law (《中華人民共和國個人所得稅法》), the Implementation Regulations of the Individual Income Tax Law (《中華人民共和國個人所得稅法實施條例》), the Tentative Measures on Withholding and Payment of Individual Income Tax (《個人所得稅代扣代繳暫行辨法》) and other relevant laws and regulations (collectively, the "**Relevant Tax Laws and Regulations**"), the Company is required to withhold and pay 20% individual income tax for Individual H Shareholders (the "**Withholding Tax**"). Subject to the confirmation of the relevant PRC tax authorities, the rate of the Withholding Tax may be adjusted in accordance with the tax treaties or arrangements applicable to the Individual H Shareholders.

Pursuant to the Announcement, the 2010 Final Dividend of the Company will be paid on or before 30 June 2011. In order to ensure the Company's compliance with Relevant Tax Laws and Regulations while meeting the timetable for the payment of the 2010 Final Dividend, the Company will for the time being withhold 20% of the 2010 Final Dividend to be distributed to the Individual H Shareholders, representing an aggregate amount of approximately HKD1,796,431.28, pending the confirmation of the relevant PRC tax authorities on the appropriate treatment for this. The Company will issue further announcement(s) in respect of any material development regarding this.

Other information in respect of the payment of the final dividend as disclosed in the Announcement remains unchanged.

By order of the Board
Yanzhou Coal Mining Company Limited
Li Weimin
Chairman of the Board

Zoucheng, Shandong Province, the PRC 24 June 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are Mr. Li Weimin, Mr. Wang Xin, Mr. Zhang Yingmin, Mr. Shi Xuerang, Mr. Wu Yuxiang, Mr. Zhang Baocai and Mr. Dong Yunqing, and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Wang Xianzheng, Mr. Cheng Faguang, Mr. Wang Xiaojun and Mr. Xue Youzhi.